The Life and Times of a GTP Student

03/11/2009

Posted in At Reading, Being Mentored, Evaluation, KS4, QTS Standards, Reflective Journal, Teaching by liamnicol on November 3, 2009

Before I assess today’s proceedings it may be useful to review my half term week.

Reading Days: Monday and Wednesday at The Bulmershe. Both days were run by an experienced and clearly knowledgeable teacher from a local school. The focus being leveling of students, planning for schemes of work, and for sequences of lessons. This related closely with Key Stage 3, especially when dealing with sequencing (the ICT topic, not the lesson planning). I was introduced to a sequencing programme called Flowol which, despite its academic merits, is a bit dry. I enjoyed using Lighbot much more, when I taught it last year to Year 7. Perhaps they could be used in conjunction, with Lightbot being a natural starter activity.

Also, did some work on Database Concepts. Very useful if you are teaching A-Level, but I found it slightly too complex, and irrelevant to my current level of teaching. All good evidence for the Subject Knowledge Audit though.

Assessment: I spent a crazy amount of hours thoroughly marking my Year 9’s Unit 4.1 (investigate a multimedia product). By the end of this mammoth session I was wearily disappointed to see that just 2/30 students had worked to the required standard. I then proceeded to plan a lesson to sort this out… Action Point: Find a way to reduce/make marking easier. I guess this is where peer assessment can be incredibly useful, both to the students and to the teacher.

On to the real stuff…

Tuesday, Period 3. Year 9: I planned a three part lesson with a starter activity to be displayed on arrival. I took my mentors advice and displayed a visual timer, I went for a cartoon bomb. This meant that everyone was aware of the time limits of the task, and it appeared to aid the working environment, and concentration. Definitely something I will continue to use. I also implemented an “off the cuff” seating plan, based on boy-girl. Perhaps this was also a contributing factor.

The middle was the chance for students to complete their Unit 4.1 to an acceptable standard. I accompanied this with the threat (a little to aggressive a word perhaps) that failure to do this would result in a letter home and after school catch up sessions. I did however give students the choice to attend a lunchtime session for Unit 4.1 Four students made use of this, which I was very pleased with. Letters will be going out soon for those who didn’t.

I had a plenary planned whereby we all discussed the difference between a Pass, Merit and Distinction, however time got the better of me, and I didn’t do it. Next lesson, this will be a key part. Action Point: Be aware of time (what a philosophical thought.)

See Lesson Evaluation for further analysis.

Period 5: Re-assessed the work by students who had resubmitted, and all have now achieved at least a Pass. Pleased with this, but there is still work to be done with this group. Also planned cover work for Friday, when I am doing my QTS Skills Tests. Lovely.

Leave a comment