The Life and Times of a GTP Student

21/09/09 – A Mixed Bag: GTP and PGCE Meet.

Posted in At Reading, QTS Standards by liamnicol on September 21, 2009

Another Monday, another train ride to Reading. Met some fellow trainee teachers in the form of PGCE students, a nice bunch. Did the usual icebreaker routine, this time playing a game I witnessed earlier this year; ‘2 Truths, 1 Lie’. I threw ’em all of with the photography degree!

Down to the serious stuff. Had an interesting couple of sessions on ‘Record Keeping’ and ‘Lesson Planning’. A few points of interest while they’re still fresh: (quoted directly from my notes): “take into account the importance of questioning in planning a lesson”. Something I really feel I need to concentrate on and digest: do my questions have a significance to the learners lesson, and the objectives therein.

Secondly, I became familiar with the term ‘ICT Capability’ which is not just the skills of ICT, but skills in conjunction with knowledge and understanding. I’m sure more details on this will emerge as the course, and my teaching, progresses.

Another interesting point today was that all topics studied in the session, provide some evidence for the Standards, so I will begin tagging this post, and others retrospectively with the relevant Standard they address.

Points of Action:
1. Create a spreadsheet to catalogue what evidence towards the Standards I have addressed, and where the evidence can be found (hyperlink to this very blog where necessary?)

2. Talk to my school Mentor, re: University Mentor visit.

3. Retrospectively tag my observations.

4. Print lecture notes from BlackBoard and annotate.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment